Home >

Our Shared History. Our Shared Purpose.

WNYGS logo Eight Counties of Western New York

Western New York’s strategic location on the Great Lakes has made it both a terminus and gateway of migration. First home to Native American communities, the region was later settled primarily by New Englanders following the Revolutionary War. The opening of the Erie Canal provided an easy route west, attracting the first of many waves of immigrants from Europe. Many people remained in the area and have been followed by immigrants from around the world.

The Western New York Genealogical Society was founded in 1974 to help preserve and encourage interest in the area's rich genealogical heritage. Our work focuses on the eight counties of Western New York - Erie, Niagara, Genesee, Wyoming, Orleans, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Allegany - that were originally part of the Holland Land Company Purchase.

The Society's Objectives:

To collect and preserve all available records relating to early settlers in Western New York.
To make these records available to researchers.
To further genealogical knowledge and research through education.
To foster record preservation by government agencies, organizations, and individuals.

Join Us for Our Final Member Meeting of the Year:
Annual Society Business Meeting and Election
with presentation "Migration Across America" with Peggy Lauritzen

Saturday, November 20, 2021 at 10 a.m. EST on Zoom

Recent News, Events, and Updates

04/07/2021: Monthly Library Research Assistance Program Reinstituted

12/31/2020: COVID-19 UPDATES: Monthly Library Research Assistance Suspended Through 02/28/2021

12/15/2020: Society Announces 2021 Board Members

07/15/2020: COVID-19 UPDATES: Monthly Library Research Assistance Suspended Through 12/31/2020

06/15/2020: COVID-19 UPDATES: An Important Message from Society President Bob Balistreri

Connect with Us!

Facebook Logo

LinkedIn Logo

Twitter Logo